Is Windows 7 more secure than XP

I have been reading an interesting report, is Windows 7 more secure than XP.

I am a Windows user, I have used Windows from version Windows 3.1, and to day I am using Windows 7 64-bit version, experience an OS that are stable and now blue screen like in the XP version, I expiring a blue screen lot of times. In another PDF file related to this subject written by Frank Simorjay there is claimed an infection rates for the 64 bit versions of Windows is lower than for the 32 bit version. There is a feature in the 64-bit versions of Windows that protects the kernel from unauthorized modification, may also contribute to the difference by preventing certain types of malware from operating.

There was study an infection per every 1,000 computers, and I found the results not surprising, giving Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 the highest marks for security.

“Analyzing server-based operating systems, Windows Server 2003, which offers both 32-bit and 64-bit editions, had 5.8 infections per 1,000. Windows Server 2008 R2, which comes only in a 64-bit flavor, had 3.6 infections.”

After reading the graph, and the numbers that is provided, I can conclude that I am more secured surfing the net then I was for the time of Windows 7 (I didn’t like XP). So my conclusion of reading this report, is that Windows security is getting better and better, and the results from this testing  says that, Windows 7 is four to five times less vulnerable to malware infections than the previous version of Windows that is Windows XP.

Am I totally safe when I am surfing the net?  No

By Alexander Ólafsson

This entry was posted in IT Security, Week 20. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Windows 7 more secure than XP

  1. Pingback: Time to Move On | Job Searching Blog

Leave a Reply

